P-H-M Educators Recognized at IDOE Educational Excellence Gala

Posted on September 15, 2022

Pictured above: Walt Disney Principal Ryan Towner, Superintendent Dr. Jerry Thacker, and Elsie Rogers Teacher Amanda Fox

P-H-M award winning educators were recently recognized by the Indiana Department of Education. Walt Disney Principal Ryan Towner and 4th grade Teacher Mrs. Amanda Fox were honored at the IDOE’s inaugural Educational Excellence Awards Gala held Friday, Sept. 9, 2022 in Indianapolis. P-H-M Superintendent Dr. Jerry Thacker was on hand to applaud them both as great examples of the excellent teachers we have in Penn-Harris-Madison.

Principal Towner was recognized on stage by IDOE Secretary of Education Dr. Katie Jenner and Dr. Rebecca Estes, Senior Director of Educator Talent (see picture below)Principal Towner was Indiana’s only 2021-22 Milken Award Winner, which he learned by surprise in March 2022. Principal Towner was awarded the prestigious Milken Award for his excellence and innovation in education.

IDOE Excellence Gala, Ryan Towner

The Gala brought together nearly 400 educators and guests from across the state. Along with Principal Ryan Towner as the Milken Award winner, the event also recognized the 2022 Indiana Teacher of the Year top 10 finalists, which included Elsie Rogers Teacher Mrs. Amanda Fox.

IDOE Excellence in Education, PHM Group
Kim & Ryan Towner, Supt. Dr. Thacker, Amanda & Micah Fox

The IDOE also awarded up to $4.6 million to schools across the state to celebrate their progress and achievement in supporting student excellence and growth. Click to read more.

Last Modified September 15, 2022